Great Grandma’s Cheese Pie

IMG_1649.JPG

IMG_1647.JPG

Oh Great Grandma’s Cheese Pie.

Ever since I was a little girl when my Dad’s Italian family would get together for any holiday, Cheese pie was ALWAYS there. Some other favorite’s that always made it were

Pizzelle’s

Lasagna

Manicotti

and so much more, but I was always fondest of that cheese pie. My Mom  took it upon herself per my Dad’s request to learn everything my great Grandma and Grandma cooked! So as she would bake the cheese pie’s I would join in and help. Squishing that butter and flower together with my little fingers, pouring the sugar and cream cheese in the blender, smelling the cinnamon mix with that creamy goodness of cheese pie that is, and anticipating the slice I would get after our family dinner. Oh yes, Very sweet memories indeed.

Here is the recipe sent via E-mail to me from my Mom almost 6 years ago after the hubs and I got married and well, I wanted to recreate that holiday treat. So I’m sharing this beloved recipe from my dear Great Grandma Angelina to you. Trust me, it will be a favorite indeed, you might want to make two. I could barely save 1 piece to take a photo of!

Crust
1 1/4 cups flour

2 sticks of butter cut up

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1 egg beaten

Blend butter into flour mixture, add egg and mix with hands and press into pie plate

Filling
2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups milk

2 8oz. cream cheese blocks

1 1/2 tblsp. flour

1 teaspoon vanilla

Sprinkle of cinnamon on top

blend eggs in a blender and add sugar, then milk, cream cheese in cut up chunks, then add flour and vanilla. Pour into Crust and sprinkle the top with cinnamon.Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes or until edge’s of pie crust is golden and pie begins to get little cracks that open up on the sides or in the center

Love you Marian!

IMG_1643.JPG

Happy after Thanksgiving, Happy holidays and Merry Christmas! From our house to yours<3

Marian<3

8 comments
  1. Kit-Kat said:

    If I wasn’t a vegan, I would eat this pie right up!
    But being so, I might have to make mmodifications.
    Aren’t traditions great, though? There’s nothing like ressurecting an old family recipe from the old memory box bin!

    • Oh yes traditions are the best! I was thinking of trying to make this vegan maybe flax eggs or the egg replacer for the eggs, and tofu cream cheese (even though tofu isn’t very healthy) and you can use any dairy free milk, and earth balance for the butter too!:) Hmmmm Somethings brewing in my little mind. I think I might have to make that!

      • Kit-Kat said:

        Oh, yes, please try!
        Haha, I like how you said tofu is not healthy. Oh well, it really depends on the brand (most are quite high in fat, but I find that Mori Nu and Trader Joes carry some good soft tofu that is lower in fat. The firmer the tofu, the higher the fat content).

      • oops sorry, I guess I meant not the healthiest for me:) I have hypothyroid, lovely I know… So I can’t have much tofu or soy. but I would still have it in the “vegan Cheese Pie I’m dreaming about.

  2. This cheese pie looks so delicious! I love all of the memories you have associated with it too. That’s what makes it taste even better!

    I may just make this for dessert this week..not that I need to be baking anymore sweets..but hey, life’s too short not to make a dessert everyday..live each day as it was your last..right? Maybe that’s a bit far fetched. Oh well 🙂

    • Yes, everyday as your last! Maybe they mean that like share time with loved ones being thankful and what not, and maybe not so much stuffing our faces. hehe. I think I would do both.
      I REALLY think you should make it! Everyone will love you for it<3

  3. lindsay said:

    you had me at grandma. haha, Anything they make is delicious!

    • ah yes, Grandma’s are the best. I think most of us can relate:)

Leave a Reply

