Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Gluten free or Vegan or both)

So, i’ve been diagnosed with a slight gluten intolerance. I eat vegan, although I don’t call myself vegan. Are you following? ok, good neither am I. So, where does this gluten thing leave me? Well gosh I just don’t know. Gluten= feeling crumby and gluten + eating vegan = too much thought into food for me, especially with my food past . So, for now, although I don’t like labels or diets ( I prefer eating for health) So avoiding gluten when I can and eating a mostly plant based diet is where it’s at for me, for now:() Fewsh!

Onto cookies. These are yummy and requested a lot in our household and I don’t mind one bit.

IMG_1068.jpg

Not a chocolate fan? Add raisins. Not an oatmeal fan, eh maybe you can find something that wets your whistle next post.

IMG_1072.jpg

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vegan or Gluten free or both

(provides 12-14)

  1. 1 Cup gluten free all purpose flour
  2. 2 1/4 Cups Gluten free rolled oatmeal ( or regular oatmeal if gluten is of no concern)
  3. 1/2 tsp Xanthun gum
  4. 1/2 tsp Baking soda
  5. 1/8 tsp salt
  6. 8 Tbsp Earth Balance or 1 stick of butter ( room temperature)
  7. 3/4 Cup brown sugar
  8. 3/4 Cup granulated sugar
  9. 1 egg (or 1 flax egg)
  10. 3/4 tsp vanilla
  11. 1/2 cup chocolate chips (more or less depending on preference)

Preheat oven to good old 350 degrees. Mix flour, oats, xanthun gum, baking soda & salt

In a separate mixing bowl mix together butter and sugar until blended. Then add egg, vanilla and mix in chocolate chips.

spray cookie tray or use parchment paper & roll dough into cookie balls and bake 10-15 minutes ( or until the edges are just golden) I’ve learned you really don’t want to over bake these cookies.

Enjoy!

IMG_1059.jpg

I made these cookies on Sunday when my family had a dinner get together and they LOVED them. I of course only told them after they ate them that they were gluten free. I don’t mean to be sneaky but sometimes I just wait to speak up about what exactly is in my baking.

God Bless everyone! Yay for It being almost Friday<3

6 comments
  1. I’ve been wanting to try being gf because I think I may have a small gluten intolerance as well! I try to avoid processed grains because I always feel heavy after eating them. But I completely agree, it takes so much time and thought to do this! I’m not vegan, I’m curious to see if my body would feel differently after a few weeks of veganism. I have alicia silverstones cookbook (she’s vegan!) and she explains in it how she felt more energized, her skin cleared up, and a bunch of other positive things that came with eating vegan. I’m really tempted to try going vegan!

    • Oh Kara! Yes Veganism Is such an amazing thing! I can’t tell people enough about it. You should do a week of it and see how you feel. I don’t think you will regret it:)
      As far as the gluten free, if you suspect it doesn’t agree with you, you can always be your very own investigator. If I go days without it and then have just a little bit I instantly get ahem…. BLoated. So I try to moderate it. Our bodies are so amazing how they can let us know what works and doesn’t. Good luck with whatever you try Kara!

  2. I like your food photography… will have to give the recipe a try one day 🙂

    • Hey thank you! Nothing compared to your photos! Your pictures are amazing!

Leave a Reply

